TMCF: Cheyney Students on the Prowl!

Over 600 students from the 47 member public Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), and six historically black law schools, attended the Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF) Annual Leadership Institute and Career Fair in New York City October 29th to November 1st, 2010.

Students were invited to network with professionals from a variety of career fields and disciplines while attending leadership and developmental training sessions hosted by the TMCF sponsors and career fair participants. Other than the students in the Leadership program, there was also a program for Teacher Quality and Retention which invited students majoring in Education to participate.

Cheyney University of Pennsylvania sent a total of 10 students to the conference. Keystone Honors scholars Isimhemen Ayewoh, Gloria Davis, Kwanzaa Parker-Dutton, Kirstan Harper, Yasheaka Oakley, Latoya Riley, and Krystle Kilcrease, who was a TMCF Student Ambassador, attended the Leadership Institute. Three students from the Call Me Mister program, L. Anita Norris, Charles Yongu and Deneyia Barbour, participated in the Teacher Quality and Retention program.

Yasheaka Oakley, a senior Communication Arts major, was able to have dinner with the TMCF CEO and President Johnny C. Taylor, Jr. ESQ during the third night of conference. A friendly and encouraging professional, President Taylor invited Oakley and three other students in the hotel lobby to join him, his staff, and friends for dinner at Rosie O’Grady’s. The students were able to discuss their conference experience, make recommendations and receive advice for their future academic and professional pursuits.

On Monday, November 1st, the last night of the conference, students were invited to attend the TMCF 23rd Anniversary Awards Dinner hosted by Anthony Anderson and Niecy Nash. Awards were given to honorees that had exhibited outstanding character in the categories of community leadership, educational leadership, corporate leadership, and one award was given by the founder of the TMCF.

The Thurgood Marshall College Fund Leadership Institute and Career Fair is held annually and the 11th Annual Leadership Institute is scheduled for October 21-25, 2011. For more information, visit

In the photo from left to right (front row last) is: Anthony Hamlet (Principal), Dr. Sedric Robers (TMCF VP Finance Controller), Johnny C. Taylor, Jr. (TMCF CEO & President) Jonathan Gray (York College of NY) and Antonio Cuevas (US Postmaster); Nkenge Kirton (Coppin State University), Yasheaka Oakley (Cheyney University of PA) and Corey Cooper (Alcorn State University).

Yasheaka Oakley Owens

Yasheaka Oakley Owens is the owner of YOakleyPR, a woman-owned small business that provides public relations, social media, and online marketing support services to small businesses and 501(c)(3) nonprofit organizations in Southeastern Pennsylvania, Southern New Jersey and Delaware.

More Posts - Website

Follow Me:
TwitterFacebookLinkedInPinterestGoogle PlusStumbleUponRedditDelicious